Explore The Steam Engine

MMJ Member Tweets

Go here and submit accordingly.

Have something you'd like to contribute? If you're looking to get your writing some exposure email me details here and we'll see if it jibes.

Buy it at Insound!

My Morning Jacket Tweets
Follow The Steam Engine...


« DOWNLOAD - Mumford & Sons - 2010-05-17 - Music Hall of Williamsburg - Brooklyn, NY | Main | WATCH - Jack White "Love Interruption" Video »

DOWNLOAD - Bob Dylan & George Harrison Studio Sessions

Bob Dylan and George Harrison got together in May of 1970 in New York city while both were busy on solo projects. Dylan released two albums that year, Self Portrait and New Morning, and Harrison was working on On Things Must Pass. It's tough to say exactly what these sessions are. Some songs wound up on both of their LP's, they play a Beatles tune... It's sort of a hodge podge but is definitely Dylan focused. I read that Harrison was "strictly support," so who knows. It's a darn good set.

However, there is one "alternate origin" of this set. It is also believed that the first half is from a 1969 Nashville recording session with Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins.

I'm not sure which but I'm partial to the former.

Bob Dylan Official - Facebook - Twitter - The Treasury - Insound - Bob Dylan

George Harrison Official - Facebook - Twitter - Insound - George Harrison

01 Ghost Riders In The Sky
02 Cupid
03 All I Have To Do Is Dream
04 Gates Of Eden
05 I Threw It All Away
06 I Don’t Believe You
07 Matchbox (Carl Perkins)
08 Your True Love
09 When’s My Swamp Gonna Catch Fire?
10 I’m A Goin’ Fishin’
11 Honey Just Allow Me One More Chance
12 Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
13 Song To Woody
14 Mama You Been On My Mind
15 Don’t Think Twice It’s All Right (Instrumental)
16 Yesterday
17 Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
18 Da Doo Ron Ron
19 One Too Many Mornings I
20 One Too Many Mornings II

DOWNLOAD - Bob Dylan & George Harrison - 1970-05-xx - Columbia Studios B - New York, NY

Bob Dylan George Harrison

This shorter set has some additional songs so I thought I'd add it as well. There are quite a few different versions of this out there.

I named it rather generically, you'll probably want to change it!

01 Song to Woody (Dylan)
02 Mama You've Been On My Mind (Dylan)
03 Yesterday (Lennon/McCartney)
04 Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues (Dylan)
05 Da Doo Ron Ron (Spector/Barry/Greenwich)
06 One Too Many Mornings (Dylan)
07 Everytime Somebody Comes To Town (Harrison)
08 I'd Have You Anytime (Dylan/Harrison)

DOWNLOAD - Bob Dylan & George Harrison - The Dylan Harrison Studio Sessions

References (1)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>